| 中文版 |

Island Folklore Series III explores Taiwan’s summertime festivals and aboriginal folktales before capping off with a mini trilogy featuring Taiwan’s Hakka people. The final three stories follow the 17th-century Hakka migration to Taiwan and their subsequent efforts to build there a new home.

Notes
  • Stories are published on dates listed beside their titles.
  • New posts roll out fortnightly on Thursdays at:
    • 9:00 AM Eastern
    • 6:00 AM Pacific
    • 9:00 PM Taipei
    • 1:00 PM GMT/BST
  • Island Folklore is made possible by the generous contributions of our sponsors.
Stories
  1. Dragon Boats (1 June 2017)
    The history and activities of the popular festival that marks the coming of summer in Taiwan!
  2. Seventh Eve (15 June 2017)
    A love story—once each year, two stars cross the “Silver River” for a long-awaited reunion.
  3. Bear and Leopard (29 June 2017)
    Black Bears and Clouded Leopards were not always black and spotted. This is their tale. 
  4. Downing the Sun (13 July 2017)
    An ancient Atayal tale that tells of two suns in the sky and the hero who shot one down.
  5. Trail of Tears (27 July 2017)
    This “hill song” records memories of leaving behind one’s home and sailing for the unknown. 
  6. Martyrs (10 August 2017)
    Memories of martyrs help a struggling people find their identity in a brave new world. 
  7. May Snow (24 August 2017)
    Centuries have passed since the Hakka people came to Taiwan and now they are thriving.
Advertisements
Posted by:Island Folklore

Taiwanese Tales & Traditions・An online repository of Taiwan's folktales, legends, myths and other traditions.