| 中文版 |

To celebrate the 2017 International Women’s Day on the 8th of March, Series II of Island Folklore introduces eight of Taiwan’s folk stories and traditions that feature female main characters, champions and heroines.

Please join us as we pay homage to the hardworking women of Taiwan with the following tales (stories are published on dates listed below).

Island Folklore is made possible by the generous contributions of our sponsors.

  1. Matriarch (2 March 2017)
    In the ancient homeland of the Amis and Puyuma peoples, women once ruled.
  2. A Tale of Two Cities (8 March 2017)
    “3/8” is the date of the Int’l Women’s Day. It also sounds just like a very common Taiwanese expression.
  3. Our Lady’s Child? (16 March 2017)
    Take a guess: Is this a German fairytale? Or is it a Taiwanese folktale?
  4. The Silent Maiden (23 March 2017)
    The Sea Goddess is the protector of Taiwan. She was once a real person and this is her legend.
  5. Fireflies (30 March 2017)
    A short, tragic tale that tells of how fireflies came to be and how they got their name.
  6. All Eyes and Ears (6 April 2017)
    The Sea Goddess has two loyal attendants who are “all eyes and ears.” This is their story.
  7. The Great Flood (13 April 2017)
    From the Holy Bible to Taiwan’s aboriginal tales, flood myths feature widely in ancient literature.
  8. Lady Compassion (20 April 2017)
    An account of the evolution of Taiwan’s beloved Goddess of Mercy.

Our stories are published weekly on Thursdays at 9:00 PM Taipei (summer), 2:00 PM GMT, 9:00 AM Eastern and 6:00 AM Pacific.

(function(g){g.__ATA.initVideoAd({format: 'inread', sectionId:1176668855});})(window);
Advertisements
Posted by:Island Folklore

Taiwanese Tales & Traditions・An online repository of Taiwan's folktales, legends, myths and traditions.